Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question. I am a landscape artist and I use the Ancient Magic Art Tools Camera Lucida as a means to transfer photo images directly to my canvas. The Camera Lucida App 9.1 is not based on a new idea. Camera Lucida is a short book, but with the winter garden photograph it begins all over again. OMG! All of this is done with a simple prism- no batteries required. Reviewed in the United States on November 24, 2014. Amazing app. Marvelous book, excellent musings on photography. In 'Camera Lucida', Barthes suggests that there are two elements to every photograph. Instead, our system considers things like how recent a review is and if the reviewer bought the item on Amazon. • Mirror or scale or rotate the photo. 4.7. The only disparaging thing I can say about this book is that it caused me to purchase a better dictionary. The camera lucida performs an optical superimposition of the subject being viewed upon the surface upon which the artist is drawing. No drawing experience needed! It's an okay product but very high priced $$$ for what you receive. Camera Lucida is a slim book that carries a great deal of weight. How you use the app is completely up to you, the artist. Camera Lucida (French: La chambre claire) is a short book published in 1980 by the French literary theorist and philosopher Roland Barthes.It is simultaneously an inquiry into the nature and essence of photography and a eulogy to Barthes' late mother. The image can be traced onto paper or canvas - eliminating any question on perspective or proportion. Borrowing from latin, he calls these the studium (‘study’ - think application or commitment) and the punctum (‘point’ - think puncture or prick).. Books that made a difference: Camera Lucida (Roland Barthes, 1980) 8 months ago, 165 comments With most activities restricted, this is a good time to think about what photography is, and what it means. FREE Shipping. Camera Lucida by Peter Moeykens . LUCID-Art Th